Learning and Curriculum


The curriculum which we offer to all of our children is based on the requirements of the National Curriculum.  Our school is organised as follows:
Foundation Stage (4-5 years) – Reception Class
Key Stage 1 (5-7 years) – Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 (7-11 years) – Years 3, 4, 5 and 6.

The curriculum for the Foundation Stage is organised into two main areas, the prime areas and the specific areas.  The prime areas focus on:

  • • Communication and language;
  • • Physical development; and
  • • Personal, social and emotional development.

The specific areas are based on:

  • • Literacy;
  • • Mathematics;
  • • Understanding the world; and
  • • Expressive arts and design.

The National Curriculum subjects taught in Key Stages 1 and 2 are:

  • • English;
  • • Mathematics;
  • • Science;
  • • Art & Design;
  • • Computing;
  • • Design and Technology;
  • • Geography;
  • • History;
  • • Languages;
  • • Music; and
  • • Physical Education.

Personal, Social and Health Education are also taught to all year groups.

All subjects and areas of learning are carefully planned to give each child appropriate, memorable experiences and the opportunity to achieve his/her full potential.  Each class is part of the whole school and as a result does not work independently.  A themed, topic approach is used where possible, to enable our pupils to make links in their learning.  Our school curriculum is planned very carefully, with a two year cycle in Key Stage 1, Year 3/4 and in Years 5/6

The Curriculum at Messingham

Links to our curriculum

Class News and Overview Subject Autumn 2021

Questions about the curriculm?

We'll be happy to answer any questions

National Curriculum Guidelines

Links to the Govenrment Guidelines